Kincorth Under-14 Boys win the League!

Kincorth Under 14s went into their final game of the season knowing that a win would bring the CNR International Division 2 title to Kincorth Academy.

It was a nervy start to the game, with neither Grammar or Kincorth taking control. It was the visitors that took the lead in 15 minutes, the first time that Kincorth have gone a goal behind all season. Kincorth reacted brilliantly to going behind as from the kick-off, a move which started with a great piece of skill on the ball from Jay Murphy ended with Leighton Phillips hitting a well struck shot into the bottom right corner to level the scores at 1-1. The game opened up a bit more from here and Ryan Gibson, making his debut for the season, had to be sharp in Kincorth’s goal to stop a couple of Grammar efforts. Kincorth took the lead on 23 minutes with a great strike from distance from Murphy to put the home side ahead 2-1 and back on the front foot. Things only got better in the second-half when Murphy hit a great strike from distance that hit the bar and bounced down and back out of the goal, it was a close call but the ball had just crossed the line giving Kincorth a 3-1 lead. Kincorth had chances to really bury the tie and seal the cup, with a great strike from Jack Leadbetter being well saved by the Grammar keeper, Craig Kinghorn hit the bar with a great effort from distance and from the rebound Matthew Clark also hit the bar. Kincorth rode their luck at times in the second half, and Gibson was on fine form to keep Grammar out, including pulling off a stunning save from a looping strike that looked destined for the top right corner. Kincorth came close from a few corners and threatened from a couple of free kicks, but three minutes from time, Grammar beat the offside trap and pulled it back to 3-2. Kincorth manage to hold out for the final few minutes and celebrated a hard fought win against a strong Grammar side to bring the Silverware to Kincorth!

Congratulations to all the pupils who have played with the squad this season, it was a hard-earned trophy!

Squad: Bradley Campbell, Fraser Carnegy, Matthew Clark, Craig Cook, Josh Cranham,  Matthew Dalgarno, Ryan Gibson, Owen Gray,  Craig Kinghorn, Jack Leadbetter, Michael McPake, Jay Murphy, Leighton Phillips, Euan Rose, Bradley Taylor, Connor Towler and Aiden Youngson.

Photos of the match are now up on the website: [button_link url=””]Match photos[/button_link]